top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturefreshfawnphoto

Baby Mila

Sweet little Mila! With her head full of dark curls, and her big dark eyes! She is SO SO cute.

Mila's mom contacted me a few months ago, they are new-ish to Campbell River, and were expecting their second baby, and knew they wanted newborn portraits to remember this special time. So we booked a day and patiently waited for baby Mila to arrive!

Mila came, and she is beautiful! We finalized our date and time and then the day before our shoot Mila's mom emailed to say their toddler had caught a cold! While we know toddlers + fall weather = Cold Season, we also knew that this year more than any other before a cold meant we needed to reschedule. So we did. Better safe than sorry, especially with my own two small kids, and the other baby's I will photograph.

So we waited some more until we all felt healthy, hooray!

I loaded my car full of my gear the night before our session (well, okay, I dont load my camera and lighting the night before, but my posing structures and all the blankets and backdrops!) Why the night before, you may ask? Well. Trying to load my bed, my tote, my bag of blankets, my camera bag, AND a 2 year old, AND a baby?! No thanks. It's hard to load my girls on a normal trip without added bags! So with the car loaded, and the girls loaded, we left. I dropped Waverly, my oldest, at my in-laws house for the morning. And then Grainger off at my moms. And THEN! it was time! I love getting to go photograph sweet new littles.

I arrived at Mila's house, I put on my mask, and used my hand sanitizer, and started ferrying in my stuff. We closed all the blinds, and I set up my station. Mila's dog said hello, and checked me out, she wasnt too sure about me and all my stuff! Mila got fed and ready to begin to model!


She was not sure she wanted to sleep for me, she was wide eyed and curious about who I was, and why her mom was handing her to me and my bright light, and clicky camera!

So we snapped away anyway, catching the occasional blink, and lots of her big eyes watching me.


We tried to get her to fall asleep, which would work for a few minutes, and then she would open those eyes and give me the stare down. Her mom joked that every picture she had ever taken of her she was dead asleep, so of course she stays awake for all her professional portraits.


But it is actually pretty common! Baby's are curious creatures, and I'm a new face, and I bring a whole new experience for them. It seemed Mila was very worried she would miss something exciting! But eventually we got some snuggled sleepy faces from her. When she woke up again, we finished up with my favourite, awake black and white images, and then it was time to say goodbye to Mila, her mom and her dog.











 

I sure loved capturing this time for Mila and her family to remember forever. What a tiny little sweetheart!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page